Wednesday, June 7, 2017

2017 No Rules Tourney Won by Edisto Outlaw

Team Edisto Outlaw with their wining wahoo
Team Reel Music with Heaviest Aggregate Winner
For 17 years the Baldwin Family has been organizing the No Rules offshore fishing tournament out of B & B Seafood at Bennett’s Point. And since 2014 the event has also been known as the Billie Baldwin Memorial, where the economical entry fee of $100 per boat, and their hospitality remain hallmarks. The crew of Edisto Outlaw won the event in 2014, and they backed it up by wining again in 2017 when their 59.5-pound wahoo weighed in as the biggest fish.

Team Carter Logging with a nice HOO
Organizer Richard Baldwin shared that the 35 boats fishing on Saturday June 3 were the most ever for the No Rules event, and that the crowd at the weigh in was greater than 300 people. Baldwin runs B & B Seafood and has to balance a lot of comings and goings at the limited dock space during the weigh in that concludes by 6 p.m. that day. “After the awards for heaviest fish, and best aggregate weight, everyone enjoyed a seafood supper prepared by my brother Tadpole Baldwin and Robbie Hooker,” said Richard Baldwin. “We plan to fish the 2018 No Rules tournament the first weekend in June as usual.”

17 years and counting of No Rules!!
“In the No Rules tournament you can start fishing whenever you like so we went out real early that day, and we caught the wining fish at 6 a.m.”, said Crosby. “We caught two more smaller wahoo by 9 a.m. and then the bite switched off and we didn’t catch another fish all day.” More than one member of the crew took a turn reeling in the winning fish, helping them earn the $3500 first place prize money. The crewmembers are J.J. Lamb, Cal Young, Ryan Crosby and Madison Utsey.

To view the feature story in the newspaper click on Colletonian.

To view past blog entries about the No Rules tourney click on 2013

To view past blog entries about the Edisto Shark Tourney click on 2013 - 2011

To view past blog entries about the ACE Basin click National Estuarine Research Reserve 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.