Thursday, June 3, 2010

DU Collegiate Sweet 16 - Citadel No. 4

The tally for 2009 is in for the Ducks Unlimited college chapters initiative. More than $550,000 was raised on college campuses and the top chapters then competed in a Sweet sixteen bracket-style competition to see who came out on top. Congratulations go to East Carolina University of North Carolina for being the 2009 DU collegiate champion.

The North Carolina State DU chapter, led by Trent Nelson, finished third in the collegiate Sweet 16. The wolfpack chapter has the distinction of holding the record for dinner event attendance In North Carolina. They have an annual DU banquet where just under 1000 people show up to participate, which their large committee of banquet planners is responsible for selling them their tickets.

The Citadel Ducks Unlimited Chapter in Charleston, South Carolina finished in fourth place in the Sweet 16 competition behind the strength of their Sponsor Skeet Shoot event. Led by Caleb Rodgers, the Citadels’ dinner banquet fundraiser has been steadily improving. And with three of the top four spots firmly in the grasp of the Carolinas, there can be little doubt about the high value that is placed upon the enjoyment of the outdoors by young people in the Carolinas!

Cabell Barrow of Charlotte is DU’s University Chapter Coordinator and said, “It is truly inspiring to see these young adults join together in the name of waterfowl and wetlands conservation. Each and every collegiate chapter in the nation helps to secure our hunting and outdoor heritage.” Those interested in more information about the collegiate chapters can call Barrow at 864-380-1498.

UNC-Wilmington grabbed sixth place in the Sweet 16 competition. Clemson University finished in eighth place and has held a spot in the Sweet 16 for several years running, raising tens of thousands of dollars annually for DU. The University of South Carolina took the final spot in the Sweet 16 with signature events like oyster roasts and Lowcountry boils.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.